relying on His strength

SCRIPTURE: Zechariah 4

OBSERVATION:
In this vision, the people are reminded that their success does not depend on their weapons, their armour or their armies, but on the power and presence of the Lord among them. Their witness for the King [symbolized by the lampstand] is empowered by the Spirit [symbolized by oil] that flows without running out, keeping the lamp burning. I suspect that “the two” anointed to serve the Lord of all the earth are Joshua [anointed as high priest] and Zerubbabel [anointed as king]. Through His appointed servants, the Lord will grant success to Israel.

APPLICATION:
In Christ, we are now His anointed [Spirit-empowered] servants. We are the ones who shine as lights in this dark world, witnessing for the Lord of all the earth [Jesus, see Matthew 28:18-20]. The success of the ‘church’, and of my own witness, is not by might, nor by power, but by the Spirit. I may be inclined to rely on my own abilities, my own cleverness, or the strength of dollars or numbers. But unless the work of the ‘church’ is done in His strength, it will not last.

As I consider next steps for the ‘church’ here in Ajax, I am reminded that it will not be by might or power (mine, or others) but by the Spirit. Therefore I need to make sure the pipes connecting me to the Spirit are solid, open, and flowing. This happens in an open relationship with Jesus.

PRAYER:
Lord, forgive me for relying on my own strength and smarts. Keep me on my knees, keep me looking to You for wisdom and direction, and relying on You for success.

One Response

  1. The words from this reading – Not by might nor by power, but by my Spirit – were a great reminder how God also works today among His people. His people, I, serve the Lord with gladness wherever they are planted to do as He asked. All too often, in serving the Lord, I desire to see the fruit of my labour. Here I am once again reminded that I am a labourer in His vineyard and God, through His Spirit will give the increase. God will anoint His servants as priests and kings (and even prophets) and use them His wonders to perform. Am I intune with the Lord? Am I listening to His voice – Here I am Lord, use me Your wonders to perform in Your ministry of healing, restoration in Haiti.

    Here I am, Lord. Is it I, Lord?
    I have heard you calling in the night.
    I will go, Lord, if you lead me.
    I will hold your people in my heart.

Leave a comment